toki

Looking forward….

Posted in Uncategorized by tokicollection on January 6, 2009

to what’s ahead for 2009! Now that I’m back from a holiday retreat, which included a lot of movies, watching DVR’ed shows, cleaning, taking “O” to the park, catching up on much needed sleep and just plain relaxing, it’s time to get right back into it and make things happen for this brand new year! From the moment I started my business, I knew it wouldn’t be a cake walk and it would require a lot of blood, sweat, tears, and a lot of heart. Every year I’ve learned something new to make my business better to grow and nurture it into a brand that I am proud of. It’s been quite a trip thus far and I look forward to learning from the bumps in the road (hopefully they will be small bumps) and celebrating the victories, no matter how small or large, along the way. Although at times running your own business can make you feel isolated in many ways, especially when you handle virtually all aspects of your company, I know I couldn’t have done it without the support, advice, and endless encouragement from my family, friends, clients and some amazing people I’ve met along the way in this industry. So, thank you. And to start off the new year on a good note (quite literally), I received an incredibly thoughtful email from a woman who purchased a pair of earrings a couple of years ago. A little excerpt of what she wrote:

“i just wanted to let you know how ecstatic i am that i have finally found the maker of my favorite pair of earrings. i got them a few years ago in chicago and never found out who made them. you made them! i wear them at least twice a week and never tire of them. anyway, just wanted to let you know how much your work is appreciated. keep up your amazing work and all the best in 2009.”

Speaking of looking forward, I thought these birds photographed by Audrey Corregan were quite beautiful. Made me think of one of the many photos I’ve taken of our beloved studio manager, Oliver. He always has a good hair day…

Here’s to 2009!
04
01
02
oliverback1

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Winifred Grace said, on January 7, 2009 at 5:15 am

    You are cute, Tonia. And so is Oliver’s nape!

  2. Lizzyg said, on January 7, 2009 at 6:10 am

    Snowy owl? I’m still looking for my American Indian spiritual name..Oliver looks content, even from the back.


Leave a Reply

